why is baseball

When I searched for the keyword ‘why’ in my cartoon bank, I got the following:

So that’s Joel Zumaya suffering after one of his innumerable injuries, Jim Schwartz being angry, and Paws asking why there are no Japanese players on the Tigers. I don’t know what any of this has to do with anything, but let’s go with it.

Why is this happening? Why are the Tigers losing so much, and so miserably? Why do they have to lose to the Racist Logos? Why is Delmon Young? Why does Ryan Raburn, even from afar, curse the very ground upon which Paws walks? Why is Alex Avila hurt (more) (again)? Why did I see “Young, M, LF” in the box score just now and think, Wait a tic, since when do we have Michael Young? Since when does Michael Young play left field? before I remembered that Matt Young was a cat whom we have now?

There are no good answers to these questions. Sometimes bad things happen to good people, and sometimes bad baseball happens to (nominally) good teams. You see, I am trying to achieve some sort of pseudo-zen state about this, as a way to preserve the tattered remnant shreds of my own sanity. It’s totally working. INSERT STRAINED TOOTHY GRIN HERE.

ETA: And now it turns out that, although it is not yet official, Alex Avila will be headed for the DL with a Hamstring of Doom. WHY.

12 responses to “why is baseball

  1. “Ours is not to answer why,” but recognize this as our collective Tonya Harding moment. (RIP Nancy Kerrigan: 10/13/69 Stoneham, MA – 1/6/94 Detroit, MI)

  2. Why? Why does Drew Smyly get no run support? Why does no one know how to hit with people on base? Why does Brennan look like a lost puppy at the plate? Why does Brandon Inge have more RBIs than half our team? Why can’t even JV get wins at this point?

    “Unmitigated disaster” goes through my head every day, at this point.

  3. Maybe it’s time for someone to find the hamsters.

  4. Hamsters! That’s what we’re missing.

    Seriously, though, it’s gotten so bad that I’ve almost stopped paying attention. I was unaware we had a guy named Matt Young. But, to protect my sanity, I’ve been trying to stay away from the Tigers the last few days. (Granted, it wasn’t hard on Monday.) I didn’t see any of the game last night, and when I saw the final score, I was glad I hadn’t bothered. And this is someone who had season tickets in 2003 AND 2004… I don’t know why this year’s bunch has me so down. I didn’t believe we’d won the World Series the minute we’d signed Prince Fielder. I knew baseball doesn’t work like that… but this team is not fun to watch, and I wasn’t expecting that.

    • I have been feeling the same way, and I think my problem is the predictability with which they lose games. 2 things happen- the starting pitcher does well and the offense leaves a bajillion men on base, or, we’re in a tie or slim lead and the bullpen melts down. Also, I’ve started being able to call when someone is about to hit into a double play, which . . . not good. Every loss is the same story and it is just so tiring.

      However, I furiously love the team as a group of guys, which is why I’m sticking with this thing until the bitter end.

  5. Yes it has been hard not to change the channel, but WIN STREAK STARTS TONIGHT!!! Here’s hoping.

  6. Trade Brennen Boesch, Jhonny Peralta, Ryan Raburn, Delmon Young for: BRANDON INGE

  7. Defence. Not good. I thought JV would blow a gasket when a tailor-made double play grounder resulted in an earned run and only a forceout. Where is Sizemore playing these days?

    • Seriously. I thought JV was going to snap. I told my husband that I wouldn’t be surprised if the coaches showed up to the park one day to find only pitchers. “Where are all the position players?” they would ask, and the pitchers would just shrug and reply “What position players?” then go back to working out. I mean, Max did his own damage to himself, but to look at the box score early in the game and see the Indians had 3 runs, none earned? Oy. Not helpful, BRENNAN.

    • Scottie’s with the Oakland Brandon Inges now.

Leave a Reply

