Where in the World is Ivan Rodriguez?

Colombia!

“But Ms. Blogger Lady”, you say, “wait a gosh-darn minute. I know my Tigers, and I know pretty darn well that our lil’ ol’ catcher happens to be from the sandy shores of Puerto Rico. Don’t give me none o’ that ‘Colombia’ business, ’cause I know that ain’t where he or his family is from. I know he’s from Puerto Rico. Heck, what was all that blabberin’ during the Home Run Derby for if it wasn’t about Puerto Rico?”

Readers, Tigers fans, to this excellent argument I can only reply, “Hey, your guess is as good as mine.”

“I heard he was in Colombia,” manager Alan Trammell said, “but I don’t really know.

“I don’t know all the details, and I basically have no idea [what] personal business he was attending to. … I don’t know exactly when he’s going to be here. It could be before the game, it might not. I’m not sure.”

Trammell said he had planned to start Rodriguez on Friday night, but instead penciled in Vance Wilson. Trammell also said he wanted to discuss the situation with Rodriguez before making any further decisions.

Rodriguez’s situation started to unfold when he began serving the suspension he received for actions and comments deemed inappropriate by the Commissioner’s Office during the Tigers’ 9-5 loss to the A’s on July 30.

During the course of his suspension, Rodriguez left the country to travel to Colombia for undisclosed personal business. According to reports from team officials, he planned to travel from South America to Kansas City in time for Friday night’s game, but his whereabouts remained unknown.

Weather likely played some role in Rodriguez’s delay, as heavy downpours hit much of the Midwest on Friday morning and afternoon — postponing the Tigers’ series opener with the Royals until Sept. 20 — though Trammell refused to accept that as an excuse.

“I realize there’s no control over weather,” Trammell said, “but that’s why I had hoped he [would] come in [Thursday] night, just so he would have been here in case something like this happened.

“I’m disappointed, as we all are. I think everybody would probably like to know a little more. But hey, it’s personal and we need to respect that, which we do.”
official site recap of the horrid wash of a day

Ha ha, wow, yeah, I’ll bet this is going to go down really well with all the other guys in the clubhouse.

WHY HAST THOU FORSAKEN US, O CRUEL AND FICKLE BASEBALL GODS? DO WE NOT HOUSE OUR TEAM IN DETROIT? IS THAT NOT PUNISHMENT ENOUGH? MUST YOU ALSO VISIT THESE BAFFLING AND DISHEARTENING TWISTS OF FATE AND TALES OF CLUBHOUSE MELTDOWN UPON US?

Tomorrow (tonight… Saturday night, in any event. Whatever, you know) I am going to see the Lowell Spinners take on the Oneonta Tigers. Should be a good time. The O Tigs can’t suck any worse than their big league counterparts, and there will probably be people in sumo suits bouncing off each other between innings. The fetid waste river that runs through Lowell and past the park should be steaming lightly in the heat, and I pity whatever poor bastard has to don the Canaligator suit for the game. I plan to have fun with baseball, goddammit.

One response to “Where in the World is Ivan Rodriguez?

  1. is he running a drug cartel or something?
    >:|

Leave a Reply

