Paging Jean Paul Sartre

Oh dear.

“I’ve come to the conclusion that I have very, very little control over the outcome of a game,” [Nate] Robertson said after the Tigers’ 4-2 loss to the Indians Thursday afternoon at Jacobs Field.
official game recap

It’s never a good sign when your starting pitcher looks like he’s about to go all existential on you. NOOOO, NATE! STEP AWAY FROM THE DEPRESSING FRENCH LITERATURE!

Of course, at this point, I don’t think anything is a good sign anymore, with these possible exceptions:

1. Shelton looked pretty darn good last night. Obviously, the high socks are helping.
2. Even though he melted down in the end, throwing a no-hitter through 5 innings is a promising sign for Nate.
3. Maggs continues to look like, if he can stay healthy, he’ll be a huge bonus in our lineup. Next year.
4. The bullpen didn’t suck boiled eggs.

Yeah, I’m grubbing a little. I still can’t believe that both Pudge and Granderson somehow contrived to strike out 3 TIMES EACH in this game, and that Inge somehow contrived to LEAVE 9 MEN ON BASE. It is nearly impossible to believe that this is the same team that was winning 7 or 8 in a row mere weeks ago.

One response to “Paging Jean Paul Sartre

  1. Man, can you blame him? The way Nate’s luck has run this year, I’m happy if the worst he’s doing is imitating Jean-Paul Sartre, because I wouldn’t really blame him if he snapped and ran around imitating Michael Myers instead. And I don’t mean the pitcher either.
    This sucks so bad that my friends and I have run out of words for how bad it in fact sucks. And oh yeah, I’m not speaking to Brandon Inge right now. He’s got some serious make up work to do after pretty much stranding the ENTIRE LINEUP in one game.

Leave a Reply

