1! 1! 1! 1! 1! 1!

I’ve been trying to write a post for a while now. Every time I sat down to do it, I would try to think rationally about this all. It’s May. We’re not even close to the All Star break yet, let alone the end of the season. Tigers are still striking out a lot, that’s not a great sign, and we’ve seen pitchers do well before only to fall off the cliff come mid-July (hi JJ!). There are all kinds of numbers involved in this run here and I kept trying to look at them.

Then I realized something. There are blogs out there who look rationally at the numbers. There are smart, methodical, level-headed, thorough Tigers bloggers out there. Maybe that’s even what Mike is doing ’round here.

But that’s not what I’m here for. I’m here to provide the sophomoric humor. The crappy photoshopped images. The bad puns and annoying nicknames. I am here, in short, not for the statgeek Tiger fan (although I welcome, adore, and occasionally foray into the territory of such a creature), but for the visceral Tigers fan.

So, the following may not be true in a couple days. It may not be true in a few hours. But as of right this very moment it is true and we all want to say it, so I will.

THE TIGERS ARE IN FIRST PLACE IN THEIR DIVISION.
THE TIGERS ARE IN FIRST PLACE IN THEIR DIVISION.
THE FREAKING TIGERS ARE LEADING THE FREAKING DIVISION.

THE TIGERS HAVE THE BEST RECORD IN ALL OF BASEBALL!!!

YOU READ THAT CORRECTLY YES AS OF RIGHT NOW THE TIGERS.
THE DETROIT. TIGERS.
HAVE THE BEST. BEST. BEST. RECORD. AS IN, WIN-LOSS RECORD.
IN ALL OF BASEBALL!!!

WE’RE NUMBER 1!
HOLY FREAKING CATS!

*brain explodes*

5 responses to “1! 1! 1! 1! 1! 1!

  1. EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE.

  2. AAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH
    (i.e. agreed)

  3. At least they are still tied for first.
    The level-headed (but not smart) one

  4. WE HAD OUR MOMENT OF GLORY.
    NOW TO REGAIN IT.
    ALSO SHUT UP IF I HAD LISTED ALL THE SUPERLATIVES FOR EACH TIGERS BLOGGER WE’D BE BLOGGING ‘TIL DOOMSDAY

  5. Woo hoo! I’m methodical.
    I try, at least. I know my numbers analysis don’t nearly equal Lee’s and Billfer’s and opinions regarding the team are never groundbreaking, but it’s fun.

Leave a Reply

