Kenny ROH NO IT’S THE SECOND HALFgers

I hope that’s not what it is. But he’s got a history. From 2003 to 2005, before the All Star break he has an average ERA of 3.87, with a BAA of .273. After the break? An ERA of 4.80, and a BAA of .301. That’s a very significant increase. And he’s not getting any younger, so it doesn’t seem like a trend that’s about to reverse.

The worrying bit is that Rogers himself is worried. He says, “The bad omen was I had a great bullpen [session].” Presumably this means something along the lines of, ‘I felt good going out there, and I got my posterior handed to me on a platter, which means that I’m getting whupped when I have no particular physical ailment which would explain such a performance’. Not the sort of thing you want to hear.

It’d be easier to overlook it if he’d been beaten over the course of a game… a bad pitch here, a bad pitch there, and coprolites happen, y’know? But that many runs in the first inning… urgh. Can’t overlook that.

I mean, yes, bad days do happen. We’ve all had them. You’re driving to work and you spill coffee on your pants. The day’s off to a bad start. So you get to the office and you try to dry the coffee on your pants and instead just manage to look like a pervert humping the bathroom dryer when your regional boss walks in. Then you go to copy something and the copier is broken. So you try to fix it, but it shoots ink all over you, and ruins someone else’s vital document. You can’t stop the bad stuff from snowballing. Or something like that, I don’t work in an actual office building.

But this was worse than a usual bad day, mostly I guess because the bad stuff snowballed so immediately, like spilling coffee on your pants in the car only to immediately get jacknifed by an oncoming truck, and then your car catches fire, and you’ve got a lot of hairspray in, so, *foom*! That’s not a regular bad day. That’s astronomically bad.

At least we clawed back into respectability and Inge provided some good offense. We do love Brandon Inge here at RotT, and fully defend our right to defend him and his sub-.250 batting average to the death.

3 responses to “Kenny ROH NO IT’S THE SECOND HALFgers

  1. See, I take this as worrying in a different sense from his early struggles, because he DOES have a history of slowing down in the second half, and because I would expect that trend to worsen somewhat as he ages and his endurance, presumably, suffers more. Then again, I tend to panic. So.

  2. ivantopumpyouup

    I have to admit, I’m a little concerned, what with the history and all. But I won’t start to panic until the wheels have actually fallen off for Kenny.

Leave a Reply

