the early Tiger gets the delicious feast (hopefully more than worms)


photo by Roger DeWitt

Imagine a sound. A high-pitched, keening sound of sheer wordless glee. A sound accompanied by hopping around. That’s approximately the sound I made when I saw that hueytaxi (of Motown Sports) had posted photos of REAL LIVE TIGERS out doing REAL ACTUAL BASEBALL TRAINING!!

YAY!

Obviously the guys are just warming up, working out, gettin’ some reps in. Mr. DeWitt reminded me that the guys who showed up (Verlander and Seay, as pictured above, apparently along with Ryan Raburn and Javair Gillett, the trainer) have homes in Florida, so it’s not like they’re exactly going out of their way to report at this ridiculously early date. That’s cool. It’s still January. I can wait for baseball. It’s not like I’m gnawing my own hands off or anything OH HOLY CATS WHY ISN’T THERE BASEBALL YET WHY, CRUEL UNIVERSE, WHY??

So, yeah, when I saw even a few Tigers out and about, doing baseball-ish things, it warmed my frenetic little heart even more than the unseasonable January thaw (it’s crrrrazy out here).

Look at their happy smiling sunny faces! Look at Bobby Seay’s beard! Look at Verlander totally not wearing MLB-issued apparel!

Squeeeee!

Oh, and while you’re here on the Internet, check out this official Tigers article about our catching situation. Basically it sounds like Vance Wilson is our man for the backup spot. The article tagline is “Rodriguez, Wilson give Tigers veteran duo behind the plate,” which is a very very nice way of saying that our catchers are OLD. Both of them. So old.

“I’m feeling good,” Wilson said. “I’m getting there.”

“One day you feel great, the next day you don’t,” Wilson said. “It’s kind of one of those things where I’d be disappointed if I’m not ready for Opening Day, but I’m not going to set any goals.”
DetroitTigers.com article

My concerns have not exactly been assuaged.

6 responses to “the early Tiger gets the delicious feast (hopefully more than worms)

  1. ivantopumpyouup

    Baaaaaaaaaseballllllllllllll. I wants it. I needs it.
    Also Vaaaaaaance. Puuuuuuudge. Abuuuuuuuuuuuse of voooooowels.

  2. if you’re not gnawing your paws off, I am! I dreamt last night that Brandon Inge had been traded to the LA Dodgers for some guy named Zack Morris. They had to give up $9 mil in the trade. I woke up scouring the Intraweb to verify this fact. It was not a fact.
    And I’m pretty sure Zack Morris is from Saved By The Bell.
    Baseball I need you! Sam – are you going to the Tiger Caravan?

  3. ivan, abuse of vowels is always acceptable. As is abuse of capslock. ‘Round here, anyways… :)
    tiff, that is plainly horrifying, on many levels. And I’m afraid I’m not Caravanning, the closest they’re coming is EMU, and that’s a) at EMU, not U of M, and b) on a Monday night. Bleh.

  4. A quote from Rogers Hornsby: “People ask me what I do in winter when there’s no baseball. I’ll tell you what I do. I stare out the window and wait for spring.”
    And, just because it’s relevant to current news, another from the original Rahjah: “I’ve cheated, or someone on my team has cheated, in almost every single game I’ve been in.” So there.

  5. Jeff, that first quote is one we’ve all heard, I think, and it never ceases to amaze me with its perfection and trueness. I think every baseball fan knows EXACTLY what he’s talking about with that quote, and people who aren’t baseball fans can’t quite imagine it, which is what makes it so wonderful.
    Paul, I don’t know how it compares to previous years, but maybe they’re trying to increase team presence in the Detroit area itself? I’m sure they know what they’re doing. And spring training tickets! Eeee! :)

  6. Seems like the Tiger caravan used to be a bit more robust in the Grand Rapids area… I remember many winters visiting with the Tigers at a local establishment. Now they just seem to have the “Whitecaps Dinner”… although temping I haven’t been to one yet.
    I did however get a pair of Spring Training tickets for row BB section 102 today against the Reds. Less than two months away.

Leave a Reply

