19 runs for the Tigers tonight

photo illustration by Samara Pearlstein

Screw the concept of punning or clever post titles. I reckon that says it all. In fact, it bears saying again: 19 runs for the Tigers tonight.

This was another game that looked like it might go to bad unhappy places. Kenny did not look great. I would say that he did not even look good. He looked pretty freaking terrible. Six runs in 3.1 innings, EW. When your starter does that, you’re not supposed to go on to win the game.

This, however, is the Detroit Tigers offense that was hyped up all winter. THIS, right here, what we just saw in tonight’s game. The crazy hit parade, up and down the line– the only guy in the starting lineup who didn’t have a hit today was Ramon Santiago, and HE managed to score 3 runs anyways. Carlos Guillen was 3-for-4 with 5 RBI. Curtis Granderson, in his first game back with the team, was 2-for-4 with 2 RBI and 2 walks. Hell, Paws walked onto the field and hit a triple off of Wes Littleton, and we ALL know Paws can’t run for beans.

I almost feel bad. I mean, not that bad, because very obviously the Tigers need this parade o’ bats, and obviously the Tigers need the wins, but it’s just as obvious that the Rangers are having SERIOUS problems right now and it’s not all that satisfying to beat the Texas out of them when that’s the case. A home run against a Rangers bullpen so shaky that it’s practically a geologic fault line looks the same as a home run against Mariano Rivera in the box score, but the batter who hits a homer against Rivera can feel like he’s really DONE something.

When we put up 11 runs in a single inning, against guys with enormously bloated ERAs, have we really DONE something? You know what I mean?

Aw, what the hell, the Tigs put up 19 runs tonight. Feast your eyes on THAT, disbelievers.

Things Rod Allen said tonight:

Rod describes Renteria’s fielding by saying that he’s one of those guys who ‘has a biological clock in his head’. Rod, I do not think that phrase means what you think it means.

Rod: “He is the straw… that stirs the drink.” (the ellipses don’t indicate speech left out, they indicate Rod’s actual dramatic pause)

Mario: “I thought that was Reggie Jackson.”

Rod: “It’s Curtis now.”

Also (this is me, not Rod Allen), I want to point out that at this precise moment in time, the Texas Rangers have on their roster players named German Duran, Franklyn German, and Frank Francisco. I find this endlessly cheaply amusing. Just wanted to point that out.

12 responses to “19 runs for the Tigers tonight

  1. The Tigers scored 11 runs in the 6th inning they did that last year on this date too!

  2. I love seeing the return of the bat parade! Hopefully we can run this image out there in various permutations quite a bit this season.
    Granderson is back and all is right with our Kittens! *crossed paws*

  3. Kevin – they did it in 2004 on this date too. Against (who?) Cleveland.
    I would like to do this against the Yankees, as Samara wishes.

  4. Kevin – I meant to say that they didn’t do it last year too…only in 2004. Ok. Because I totally made it seem like they’ve done it three times on the same date within five seasons.

  5. Here we go!. It is good to see the bats booming, although I wonder if Kenny Rogers has anything left in the tank….

  6. Adam — you totally did make it seem like that. At seven-thirty in the morning my Mind Was Completely Blown! I was relieved to find out that it wasn’t as freaky weird as all that.
    Of course, twice on the same date is pretty Freaky Weird, anyway. We should all think about this very carefully and not do anything rash.

  7. I was in the stands for the hit parade. It was fun when we tied, and then when we took a 3 run lead I was at ease. But then we doubled them up on Miggy’s 3 run shot. And then we kept going and going…and I know what you mean Sam. I kinda felt bad for Texas. But not bad enough to keep screaming and hollerin!

  8. Biological clock? Oh Rod.

  9. I agree about the Yankees… especially on Tuesday when I’m at the game!!!

  10. BiologicalClock

    Rod Allen is craZy

  11. ivantopumpyouup

    You brought back the bats. I love it.

  12. Glad you all a) recognized the bat parade and b) didn’t call me out too badly on my laziness in reusing it. Hee.

Leave a comment