Tigers blooming in the spring


illustration by Samara Pearlstein

Spring Training! FINALLY!

Stupid news for our favorite stupid cats:

Joel Zumaya knows he’s used up 8 of his 9 lives already. It remains to be seen if this is just word-vomit, or if he’s actually taken it to heart.

Dontrelle speaks. “To me, the issue is, I’m terrible.” Oh, Dontrelle. Don’t make me cry. :(

Johnny Damon’s wife likes Chicago better than Detroit. ENOUGH. I wish he would just disappear into a forest somewhere, lost to the world for 50 years. At the end of that time he will emerge, having transformed into a magical tree sprite who, having inhuman powers, is not allowed to play professional baseball.

Two from the same article:
–Nate Robertson had surgery on his groin back in November. Why are we only hearing about this now? I guess if it had gone badly they would have just let him slip silently into the murky recesses of the minors.

–Clete Thomas has made a Wee Clete! Brooks Massey Thomas was born on January 30. Big Cat Congrats to Mr. and Mrs. Thomas!

17 responses to “Tigers blooming in the spring

  1. OMG. I think this is even better than last year’s Spring Training image.

    Also I’m kind of tired of the Damon talk too. S**t or get off the pot, Johnny.

  2. Thank you ever so much for making Magglio with long hair–as he should be. ;)

  3. gawd i hope clete doesnt get his little’s name tattoo’ed on his forearms. but thats nice for the cletes! leyland looks great in a flower.

  4. I was surprised to hear about the baby Zumaya, also–these kids don’t seem old enough to be fathers.

  5. ivan, all images are insane ~in their own special way~. ;)

    Jennifer, I am going to keep drawing him with the long hair, because I am in denial/it is how things should be.

    janey, omg, why did you have to go there? DON’T DO IT CLETE, DON’T DO IT.

    rea, didn’t he name that kid MARLEY? Yeah. Mature.

  6. O.K. You were right all along about Damon.

  7. Especially frightening/lovely is Nate Robertson with a flower-petal cap. For some reason I got a flashback to the little toadstool guys in the original Super Mario Bros. Not for anyone else with similar headgear mind you, just Nate.

    That article about Johnny Damon had me thinking it doesn’t matter what he does now. It’s inevitable that the next time he plays at Comerica, he’s gettin’ booed.

  8. Oh man I needed that. The sun is out (feels like the first time in weeks), and I replaced the snow scene on my desktop with flowering Tigers, and I am feeling better already.

  9. Oh that flower drawing is the funniest thing I’ve seen all day!

  10. I’ve been watching the Olympics all week and it’s been bugging me that Evan Lysacek reminds me of someone… and I couldn’t quite think of who until he won the gold last night. He smiled and showed off his dimples and it was suddenly so OBVIOUS!

    He and Magglio are long lost brothers!

  11. David O. (13194013)

    Dontrelle Willis breaks my heart. I love him so but I don’t think he’ll ever be old Dontrelle again.

    *sniff*

  12. I tried to ID the flowers, I don’t think I got them all… who is:

    the pink flower right above Nate?
    the yellow flower lurking behind/below what I think is Carlos in the tulip?
    the top guy in the lilac-looking thing?

  13. I see the drawing and I hear:

    “Drip, drip, drop
    Little April shower
    What can compare
    To your beautiful sound
    Beautiful sound
    Beautiful sound
    Drip, drop, drip, drop”

  14. I forgot to mention the “Paws-Tiger lily”…Nice.

  15. FrogMan, I think your pink flower is Scott Sizemore. Not sure about the other two though.

  16. FrogMan, PfP is correct, the pink flower is Sizemore. The yellow one is Miner, sort of, and the top guy in the purple cluster flower is Coke (but that was before I saw his ST goatee and hair!).

  17. I Love it! Paws as a Tiger Lily! But it looks like Austin Jackson got the most Elegant flower!

Leave a Reply

