pug marks, Feb. 23


photo illustration by Samara Pearlstein

It’s been ages since we last had a pug marks post, hasn’t it? Let’s see if we can manage to pug mark things that aren’t Traitor Damon.

pug mark 1
Carlos Guillen is just fine with a DH role. Which is good, ’cause, uh, it’s what he’s going to be playing. Logic, the composition of the lineup as it stands right now, and Guillen’s baseball-elderly body would all seem to make this an easy decision. It’s only an issue because of an interview Guillen did back in October, where he said things like this:

“I’m not trying to make big trouble,” Guillen said. “I know we’re coming off a tough year. I just want to make everything clear and prepare myself for the next year, because I don’t know what [the Tigers are] going to do.”

“I’m happy with the organization,” Guillen said. “We have great players, great fans. But I think the best way I can help my team is on the field.”
Jason Beck, DetroitTigers.com

Now he’s saying things like this:

“I’m very happy,” Guillen said. “We had a good conversation this morning.”

“I made a mistake,” Leyland said.

That made a point with Guillen.

“I’m happy he understands,” Guillen said.
Jason Beck, DetroitTigers.com

It’s not surprising that Guillen wants to play every day, and it’s not really surprising that he had some trouble imagining himself happy in a reduced role. He is after all a professional baseball player, which means that in his little baseball player heart he believes he is 22 years old and made of adamantium. So it took some time and some pointed front office communication to get this through, but it sounds like everyone got there in the end, and that’s the main thing.

pug mark 2
Our very own Lee of Tiger Tales has done a book! A WHOLE BOOK, YO. It’s called Beyond Batting Average and it has numbers and words and things in it.

It ALSO has drawings in it! Because Lee was concerned that numbers and words might be kind of boring for some people, he wanted inky doodles to break up the tedium, so he asked me if I would terribly mind making some appropriately inky contribution. Of course I agreed, for great baseball justice and moderate lulz. Here’s a preview to whet your appetite:

Lee also did a wee interview about the book with BYB, which can be found right over here.

pug mark 3
The G-Money situation is resolved. For now. He’s pleading no contest to the charges, and in exchange will have to attend anger management classes, which is probably a good thing anyways. Maybe we should have all the Tigers attend with him. You know, to be proactive.

pug mark 4
Relatedly, sort of, Dane Sardinha has been arrested for driving drunk. He’s with the Phillies now, but he was ours just recently, and in light of the Cabrera and G-Money incidents it seemed worth a mention.

I don’t know what, if anything, MLB is doing to address the drinking culture of the players, but it’s starting to look more and more like they need to do SOMETHING. Also, people who drive drunk are the scum of the earth, so if all Tigers can please remember that they make more than enough money to pay for a cab from now on, that would be swell.

pug mark 5
Bobby Seay has been shut down for a few days. He’s got bursitis and tendonitis (read: swollen bits) in his throwing shoulder. The team doesn’t seem to think it’s a huge deal, but they’re taking the Better Safe Than Sorry and Without Bobby Seay When You Need/Want Him approach.

pug mark 6
Some interesting spring visuals, via Roger DeWitt/hueytaxi:

–When did Ramon Santiago get so jacked?
–The Bondo tattoo situation is even worse than we initially thought. The tribal bicep route, Bondo? Really?
–Behold the new svelte Zoom.
Max St. Pierre lives!
–If Phil Coke keeps this look during the season, he’s going to make himself much easier to cartoon. Do it, Phil, do it!
–Magglio’s hair report: still tragically short.
–Ryan Perry really needs to kill the chin strap thing he’s got going on right now.
–One of the first photos of Max Scherzer I’ve seen. Gorgeous, fierce, flawless, etc.

pug mark 7
Oh, fine, one Traitor Damon pug mark. Please take a look at Mr. Dombrowski’s shirt at the ‘Hey we signed this dude for real’ press conference. STRIPED PERFECTION. That shirt is everything my cartoony mind has ever dreamed of for our GM.

14 responses to “pug marks, Feb. 23

  1. I noticed and am also dismayed by the chin strap as well. If it’s still around when I get to FL, I’ll give him a talking-to (yeah right). I agree on Mr. Scherzer, as well.

  2. Mr. Dombrowski’s Tiger-striped shirt goes particularly well with Mr. Damon’s striped pants.

  3. My! Ramon Santiago is ripped this Spring Training. I saw a Striped Polo when I was at the store, and thought of Mr. Dombrowski when I saw it.

  4. Re: Dombrowski’s shirt, it’s no sailboat sweater, but at least he’s staying with what’s expected of him. ;)

  5. Scherzer’s expression in that picture is amusing.

    I’m convinced Dombrowski does it just for you.

  6. When I saw Scherzer at the TigerFest, I thought he looked quite a bit like Daniel Craig. I told my buddy a James Bond nickname would stick by the end of the season. Seeing this photo, though, the similarity must depend on the angle.

  7. Max St. Pierre!!!!! Oh, my little heart is all aflutter.

  8. Love Pug Mark No. 6. What this blog needs more of is facial hair updates, clearly.

    And, I saw the entire presser online introducing The Left Fielder We Will Imagine to Be PAWS, and I did not make the connection re: the striped shirt. I am most ashamed.

    (P.S. After noticing another “Jeff” posting somewhat regularly, I am the old “Jeff” now posting under a fairly regular nickname I have held for some time, but have kept under wraps over here for reasons even I do not fully understand. Mostly laziness, I suppose.)

  9. Congrats to you and Lee on the book! What a great thing to have done

    And Shame on Dane! There is never any reason to drink and get behind the wheel these boys should know better.

  10. Alli, you better! Someone’s gotta talk some sense into that boy.

    rea, lol, TD’s pants are just whiskered jeans. They aren’t striped all the way down. I might be able to start respecting him if he started showing up for pressers in insane pants, though.

    Lauren, then Dave Dombrowski’s work here is done. ;)

    Jennifer, it just fills my heart with joy to see it. If he can find a white, orange, AND blue striped polo, I think we can all retire happy.

    ivan, Scherzer has wacky!face, it looks so different from different angles. But my thinking is, if we start showering him with love early, maybe he’ll perform up to it. Paws knows we need it.

    Matt, head-on I can actually see what you mean, but Scherzer’s nose especially looks way different in profile (or 3/4 view). If he gets an appearance-related nickname I reckon it’ll have to do with his eyes. Hopefully something delightfully random will come up tho so we don’t have to go the predictable route.

    Colt, ikr?!? I was so excited.

    Swampy, yeah, I don’t look at commenter emails or IPs unless there’s a problem, so I didn’t even immediately notice that there were two different Jeffs floating around. Good move.

    And this blog could definitely be just a facial hair update blog if we wanted. Heck, with Nate Robertson alone we’d probably have enough fodder.

    Trammaker, thanks! And seriously, all of them should know better. Heck, EVERYONE should know better.

    rob, that is so fantastic that it will probably get its own post later tonight/early tomorrow, ha ha.

  11. I saw the press conference for Damon and when I saw DD I thought…Oh stripey shirt goodness. I thought he looked as close to your cartoon as possible.

  12. Can’t help looking at Phil Coke’s photo and seeing Dave LaPointe.

    And Max Scherzer looks like Daniel Craig in his photo.

Leave a Reply

