Opening Day 2010


illustration by Samara Pearlstein, click for bigger

Justin Verlander. Zack Greinke. 4:05 pm EDT today. IT BEGINS! Are you ready? I am about to eat my own hands, I am so ready. Tigers baseball, real and live and actually meaning something! Kansas City! Giant scoreboards and mascots with deformed heads! Look at all my exclamation marks!

We are having some sort of Tigers blogger jumbo pregame chat thing, starting at around 3 pm. I don’t actually know what this will entail, but I am participating in it, so, yeah, that’s happening. As we have learned, CoveritLive hates WordPress and WP hates it, so it won’t imbed properly here. Just click the link below to view the chat when it goes live at 3 on Monday, or to see the transcript after the fact.

Tigers Opening Day Mega Chat

I will update this post with a quick summary after the chat is over, and probably some bullet points about the game, unless something madly exciting happens and I need to make a whole new post to contain my glee/horror. Either way, I’ll ‘see’ some of you at 3 for Opening Day internet wonders.

What Happened in the Chat:

–Participating in the chat were Billfer, TigerBlog Brian, Formerly MackAve Kurt, Tigergeist John, Scorecard Austin, BYB Mike, MCB John, TigsTown Paul, Freep Jamie, TigerTales Lee, TigsTown Mark, BYB Big Al, Detroit4lyfe Bob, Matt in Toledo, and me. BYB Ian was late. Phew. I think that’s everyone.

–Our haphazardly-informed predictions for the season:
NL West: Rockies
NL Central: Cardinals
NL East: Phillies
AL West: Mariners (but not by a lot)
AL East: Yankees (obviously I disagree)
AL Central: Tigers (we’re all filthy homers)

–We think Dontrelle will make between 6-10 starts before getting injured/being trade/being sent down/otherwise departing.
–Eddie Bonine has a knuckleball, should use it to confuse and amaze.
–If Dontrelle isn’t working as a pitcher, we should convert him to a batter all Rick-Ankiel-style.

–There is but one Curtis Granderson. You can stop comparing Austin Jackson to him right now, because Austin Jackson is not Curtis Granderson, he will never be Curtis Granderson. Nobody can ever even hope to be Curtis Granderson. It is not possible. There is Curtis Granderson, and then there are the rest of us.

–Golden gods: Chad Durbin, Alex Avila
–Clete Thomas will probably be the first minor leaguer called up (although I said Armando).
–The ‘best’ offseason move was signing Johnny Damon, but really the best offseason move was getting Verlander’s contract done; Billfer just didn’t think to put that as an option.
–AJ Pierzynski is the most hated player in the Central among bloggers, ballplayers, and human beings everywhere.
–Nobody understands my feelings re: Damon, but I will make them understand. I will make them see truth.

(proper game post coming later tonight!)

17 responses to “Opening Day 2010

  1. ivantopumpyouup

    I’ll be there with bells on!

  2. Whan that aprill with his shoures soote
    The droghte of march hath perced to the roote,
    And bathed every veyne in swich licour
    Of which vertu engendred is the flour;
    Whan zephirus eek with his sweete breeth
    Inspired hath in every holt and heeth
    Tendre croppes, and the yonge sonne
    Hath in the ram his halve cours yronne,
    And smale foweles maken melodye,
    That slepen al the nyght with open ye
    (so priketh hem nature in hir corages);
    Thanne longen folk to goon on pilgrimages,
    And palmeres for to seken straunge strondes,
    To ferne halwes, kowthe in sondry londes;
    And specially from every county’s ende
    Of Michigan to Comerica they wende.

  3. 1) Sweet Picture!
    2) I am currently using it as my office desktop background!
    3) I have had three co-workers comment on the sweetness of the picture in the 20 minutes that it has been up (possibly egged on by my telling them “come into my office and look at this sweet picture”)!
    4) It is not Comerica, but I am heading out to Nationals Park in about two hours. Both Halladay and Obama are pitching today!
    5) Opening Day Exclamation Points!

  4. rea –an Olde English A+!

    …Leylande smoketh
    bulle-pen snorteth,
    Zoomer is icumen in
    lhude sing Whoo-hoo

  5. exclamation points!!! marked with anxiety!!!! my lover baseball is back, and he promised to treat me right this time.

  6. Happy Opening Day everyone! Go Tigers!

    I dig the team pic, Samara!

  7. ivan, good! Internetly see ya shortly!

    rea, I… I don’t even know what to say. It’s so… beautiful. Snff. I wipe a dramatic tear from my eye.

    Juskimo, ha ha, excellent. I’m glad you are properly sharing the Opening Day joy. And hey, it’s BASEBALL– Nats Park is legit. Have fun!

    pocoloco, lol, indeed.

    allthewine, he always SAYS he’ll treat us well… and every year we hope he will, but we shall see. I’M KEEPING MY EYE ON YOU, BASEBALL, YOU BEST BEHAVE.

    81371, thanks! It is important for all to celebrate the wonder of our team in Terrible Cartoon form.

  8. David O. (13194013)

    I need to buy my Twins/Worst Sox voodoo dolls.

  9. David O. (13194013)

    I also may have to make a shrine to Austin Jackson.

  10. Happy Opening Day to you, Ms. Samara :-D I like that picture, it’s cool. I have my sign all made and my Tiger Getup all ready for the Home Opener on Friday

  11. Hmm, the Comerica Tales, you can never underestimate the educational value of this blogge…although I do believe we have been treated to English of the Middle sort (but emblazoned with the olde English ‘D’)….kind of about the Fu-te-Ni era of the English rotation…

  12. lIf that 7th inning was a preview of things to come, we’re going to love having Jackson and Damon at the top of the Tigers’ lineup!

    I wonder how many center fielders making their MLB debuts have gunned down a runner at the plate. That’s something Jackson will always remember. I called the runner out before the ump did, but upon seeing the replay, I think that guy might’ve been safe. The Tigers might’ve gotten away with one.

    It was cool to see Ordonez with a couple hits, including a double. That’ll be huge if he can hit like that all season long. It was also cool to see Cabrera and Guillen chip in with a couple hits apiece.

    Inge’s double in the 7th made up for his lousy 1st inning ending strikeout with two in scoring position. As excellent as Verlander is, he still has a tendency to give up a crappy inning that jacks up his pitch count and changes the face of the game (even if it’s just temporary). Luckily the team overcame that shaky 5th inning.

    It was cool to see Zumaya with an effective and efficient 1-2-3 inning in the 6th. We need to see him throw like that more this season. Perry was also solid out of the ‘pen today, and that was cool to see.

  13. That picture is fabulous. Baseball is back, Tigers win, my world is complete again. :)

  14. ivantopumpyouup

    I lied, haha.

    I agree with you on Galarraga, though. I told my dad they’ve probably got him on speed dial if Willis or Bondo struggle a lot/get hurt.

  15. It took me two seconds before I made your illustration my iPhone wallpaper. Love you, Samara.

  16. “Participating in the chat were Billfer, TigerBlog Brian, Formerly MackAve Kurt, Tigergeist John, Scorecard Austin, BYB Mike, MCB John, TigsTown Paul, Freep Jamie, TigerTales Lee, TigsTown Mark, BYB Big Al, Matt in Toledo, and me. BYB Ian was late. Phew. I think that’s everyone.”

    Nope. :(

    Awesome illustration.

  17. David O, I feel that all those things will stand you in good stead throughout the season.

    Lauren, awesome! Rock that home opener.

    Coleman, we are all about the education over here. And if the education can be bastardized in the service of a baseball team, we consider that ~perfection~.

    81371, he was definitely out. I’m not even sure he ever touched the plate; Laird swiped him up the line. But oh yeah, hell of a way for the kid to make his debut.

    Colt, it is seriously amazing how much better everything seems now that baseball is back again. It’s just Right.

    ivan, you know? I mean, Clete makes sense (because… Don Kelly, what?), but I have to imagine that with the rotation in the kind of shape its in, they’ll be keeping Armando in mind relatively early.

    Brandon, ha ha, excellent. May their smiling cartoon faces greet you with joy every day. ;)

    Bob, blah, I thought I might be missing someone. Did you do the introduction post in there? I was mostly going off of those. Anyways, fixed!

Leave a Reply

