Justin, we have discussed this.


old photo by Samara Pearlstein

I was at work for this entire game. So maybe… someone can explain to me… (deep breath)… how it is that Justin Verlander threw 121 pitches in a whole 5.2 innings.

(eye twitch)

I mean, I’m just curious. I see that Francisco Liriano went 8 innings and threw a total of 112 pitches. Just throwing that out there.

Of course my box score reading comprehension skills tell me that Verlander didn’t give up that many baserunners, and the only run he allowed was unearned (which begs the other question: WHAT THE GUANO, THREE ERRORS?). He struck out seven while only walking three. So I can GUESS that he was right around the plate all night again, and guys were just fouling off pitches left, right, top, bottom, strange, charm, etc. But it still blows my mind. Over 120 pitches in under 6 innings, and this will be accounted a Pretty Damn Good Start because he struck out a bunch of dudes.

I refuse to accept this. I refuse to lie down (or let my typin’ fingers lie down) and accept the fact that Justin Verlander is always going to be inefficient, and if we want him to pitch a complete game, we just have to expect that it’s going to take 200 pitches.

Let me put it this way: the Tigers need an ace. But you don’t get to be an ace if you’re always out of the game by the 6th. Throwing so many pitches, taking himself out of the game by virtue of that pitch count… Verlander is not going to be an ace with that kind of baggage. And I hate that.

7 responses to “Justin, we have discussed this.

  1. The Ryan Raburn Fielding Adventures Against the Twins, Redux.

    Maybe he oughta just sit in the bullpen for the rest of the series and warm up Damon before innings.

  2. Justin was locating his off-speed stuff fine, but the fastball was still up in the zone and all over the place.. and yes, everything was being fouled off.

    As you noticed, there was also a significant amount of Raburn Fail. Ramon’s error was on a chopper that took a weird hop. Sigh.

  3. And we can’t even blame the errors on their stupid dome and stupid astroturf this time.

  4. David O. (13194013)

    Ryan Raburn is usually invisible in the outfield, a steady glove and average defense, but his errors are spectacular.

    Sam, I think JV is now throwing so many pitches out of spite. He’s saying: it’s my arm, I’ll do what I want.

  5. Strange charm….subatomic particles and Justin Verlander…never in the same blog did I ever expect to see that. Keep up the good work Sam.

  6. TigersFan81371

    It’s a drag that the Tigers lost on a night in which they hung a rare 0-5 on Mauer.

    I’m holding on to the hope that because it’s still early in the season, there’s plenty of time for JV to turn it around. 2009 got off to a shaky and rough start for him, too.

Leave a Reply

