Ernie Harwell, Jan. 25, 1918 – May 4, 2010


illustration by Samara Pearlstein, quote by Mr. Harwell

RIP, Mr. Harwell. You magnificent voice, you magnificent human being.

22 responses to “Ernie Harwell, Jan. 25, 1918 – May 4, 2010

  1. I can’t stop crying. I know he lived a full life, and he got to say his goodbyes and we got to say goodbye to him, which is something not a lot of people get to do. But I’m just going to miss him so much. Ernie Harwell was in every sense of the word a gentleman, and I will always feel lucky to have met him.

  2. ivantopumpyouup

    Excellent tribute, Sam. ;______;

  3. I am fairly certain I learned the sound of Ernie Harwell’s voice in utero. It is hard to imagine baseball in Detroit without him.

  4. David O. (13194013)

    A wonderful person and the voice of the Detroit Tigers. Rest in peace, dear sir.

  5. Truly a great man and a tremendous announcer. This is a very sad day, but let’s pay tribute to a life well lived.

  6. Very nice. Go in peace Ernie.

  7. I saw the Costas piece with him on MLB during the off-season. It is truly sad that the last, great generation of announcers are slowly going to their reward. Condolences to all Tigers fans.

  8. (Yankee fan)

    That is gorgeous. Thank you for sharing it.

  9. Bravo. I’d be willing to purchase that as a poster. Brilliant work.

  10. I grew up in northern Indiana, where we got our baseball broadcasts from Chicago, St. Loius, Cleveland, and Detroit. There were many forgettable announcers and a few legends like Jack Brickhouse and Harry Caray. The best — by a mile — was Harwell. I became a Tigers fan for many years because of him, even though my grandma was a die-hard ChiSox fan.

    Thanks, Ernie.

  11. Ernie came to Detroit the year I came into this world…ever since it’s been baseball and Ernie. Is there anything better than that? I can hear Ernie’s voice now yet I can’t remember the voice of my long departed father. He was there on the nightstand, under the covers…in the car and on the ball field…From Jake Wood to Kaline to The Bird to Tram and Whitaker…to Higginson. A part of me has passed along with Ernie…Thank you my Christian brother!!!

  12. It is rare that a person’s value can be stated with any real measure of accuracy. Ask any Baseball fan his (or her) feelings about Ernie Harwell however, and his value becomes Very apparent! Thank You and Farewell, Ernie!

  13. We’re all mourning here in Detroit. Rest in Peace, Mr. Harwell

  14. PudgeforPrez

    I said it to you elsewhere, but this is a really lovely tribute. Thanks.

  15. What a beautiful tribute to a great man. Thank you :)

  16. Pingback: The blogosphere remembers Ernie Harwell

  17. HawkeyeEdward

    My dad grew up in Dearborn and he passed his love of Detroit sports to me. We spent the summers of my youth in Iowa listening to Ernie and Paul on WJR.

    When I was in Detroit last weekend, I drove down Woodward, looking at Coney Island, the little ice cream and custard shops, navigating the Michigan left, and thinking about Ernie and my dad, who had bypass surgery a couple of weeks ago in Phoenix. I spent time with him at the hospital watching the Wings and Coyotes, and when we brought him home, I noticed that the autographed Al Kaline baseball I got him for his 65th birthday last year is sitting in the entertainment center, right next to the TV.

    Ernie is gone, Kaline is in his 70s and my dad was a silent heart attack waiting to happen. It has not been a good month for wanting to live forever. But some people end up living forever, as long as there are others who remember them.

    Ernie will always be one of those.

  18. HawkeyeEdward

    Btw, an excellent video piece from MLB Network…

  19. I’m just standing here like a house by the side of the road, missing you, Ernie.

  20. From a Phillies fan, my condolences on the loss of one of baseball’s all-time great broadcasters. Our team lost its voice when longtime announcer Harry Kalas died in the broadcast booth last year. Since Ernie Harwell passed, I’ve been thinking a lot about how much I miss Harry, and how much it must hurt for Tiger fans right now.

    I know the feeling that a part of your childhood is gone along with that person. Great baseball voices provide the soundtrack to so many memories when you look back–long nighttime drives with the windows down, barbecues with friends and family. I’m sure that for many of you, Ernie was not only the voice of baseball, but the voice of summer, as Harry was for me.

    My thoughts are with Ernie’s family, the Tigers, and their fans.

  21. TigersFan81371

    A very cool tribute!

Leave a Reply

