a variety of Tiger things, many of them awful


illustrations by Samara Pearlstein

–As I mentioned before, apparently everyone got injured while I wasn’t looking. I was of course already aware of the Inge situation, but now Carlos Guillen is on the DL with a calf strain and Magglio Ordonez is out six to eight weeks with a broken ankle?? We’re all doomed. There are like 10 weeks left in the season or something, so if Magglio misses eight of them…

Yeah. Doomed.

–The only ‘good’ thing here is the fact that Magglio’s 2011 option, which was tied to at-bat appearances, will probably not be able to kick in now.

–I cannot believe the way the Tigers lost this game. I can’t believe how they’ve BEEN losing. At least they were able to get SOME hits today?

–For once I am not even mad at Justin Verlander’s pitch count. He threw 113 pitches to get through 8 innings. Fine. That is acceptable. I had the pregame show on for a hot minute and I am pretty sure I heard them say that Verlander thought pitch counts were ‘overrated’, which I took as a personal affront. Also, Justin’s beard is coming in nicely.

–Will Rhymes got his first big league hit today. Yay, etc. BJ Upton appeared to catch his cleat on the carpet and injured himself on the play. I’m not sure what that means, but surely there is symbolism of a sort in there.

–Triple-A lineup is still triple-A.

Billfer is picking up his cleats and going home. The end of an era. I think we are all saddened by this news.

–There was more I wanted to say, but I am falling asleep. So I will just note that July 27 was Max Scherzer’s birthday! It was also Dave Dombrowki’s birthday! Yes, they share a birthday, it is a beautiful and magical thing.

ETA: Oh right, I wanted to discuss the whole Jim Leyland allegedly spits on an umpire thing. Partly because Leyland’s reactions are as good as they usually are when he gets fired up–

“I don’t give a care what [Foster] says, and I don’t give a care about what anybody else thinks when they read it in the [Commissioner’s] office. I’m tired of not saying anything. I don’t care that he missed the play. That’s part of the game. When you make an accusation that’s a total, blatant lie, that’s upsetting to me.”

“I don’t know what they’re going to do, and I don’t give a care. They can do whatever they want to do. I’m tired of it. I don’t care that they missed the play. That’s part of the game. I don’t care that he ran me. That’s part of the game.”
Jason Beck

–(was he really saying ‘I don’t give a care, Mr. Beck?), and partly because it’s worth noting as yet ANOTHER example of the umpires being at war with the Tigers. I don’t know if it’s just confirmation bias and we’re noticing it more often now because we’re looking for it or what, but it sure SEEMS like the Tigers are having more issues, and more serious issues, with the umpires than in previous seasons.

There have always been bad calls and arguments, of course, but it’s gone to a whole new level this year.

10 responses to “a variety of Tiger things, many of them awful

  1. -I love how with Maggs you have the shadow of his long hair!
    -The revenge of the former Tigers continues! Noooooo….
    -There’s also 1 other person who shares a birthday with Max and Dave… and I’m not happy who it is. >:(
    -Great drawings, as per usual.

  2. I’m so glad you drew in Magglio’s phantom long hair, because I was going to suggest he grow it back out during his hiatus.

  3. I like how I draw in phantom hair, and instead of going, “What in the heck is that?”, you guys go, “Oh! Phantom hair! Of course!” :D

  4. ivantopumpyouup

    I love Magglio’s ghost!hair.

    I don’t love anything else.

    Besides DD and Max sharing birthday cake.

  5. Sadly, I must agree on our doomedness –and argue that being doomed isn’t the end of the world.

    It’s whiplash for us fans, though –as recently as the All-Star break our cats were legitimate contenders in a tight (if mediocre) division, primed for the mad rush to October. But the nature of the team has changed drastically, & so must the nature of rooting for them.

    The injury epidemic was soul-crushing but hardly shocking. All but Zumaya are baseball-old, all have been regular denizens of the DL. The team was aging, the roster was thin, and last winter’s moves showed that rebuilding had already begun. Now: full speed ahead –it’s much too broken for any trade-deadline quick fix.

    I’ll be treating the rest of this season as extended spring training –see what these kids have got, watch them learn to be big-leaguers, and squint for the glimmers that (along with some free-agent pickups) will warm us through the off-season. And it’s not as though we’re starting from zero: better young pitching than most, huge upsides in A-Jax & Boesch, & of course the magnificent Miggy. They’ll be entertaining the rest of the way, and could be fine spoilers for the teams we love to hate. But we’re no longer cheering a good team as it scrambles to the top –we’re watching the next great Tiger team take shape. Sigh, but don’t despair. Watch and hope. Go Mudhens!

  6. I think people should stop saying “Miggy and the Mudhens.” It is not appropriate.

    They should say, “Miggy and the Mudhens guest starring Johnny Damon.”

    (The software on the site will automatically correct Johnny to Traitor, right.)

  7. I think I own a t-shirt I need to burn. It features photos of four Tigers who were part of the 2006 World Series team on the front: Zumaya, Inge, Ordoñez, and… Verlander. Eeek.

    I’ve been wearing it forever, and didn’t know it was a bad luck charm until just recently. Perhaps we should hope that the DL-bug mistook Guillen for Verlander… Or… I don’t even want to think about it.

    Thank you for the DD/MS birthday cartoon to cheer me up. I also think the name “Miggy and Mudhens guest starring Johnny Damon” should be trademarked.

  8. Miggy and the Mudhens, guest starring Johnny Damon…plus Puppet Show!

    The Puppet Show could be performed by Ordonez, Guillen, and Inge (yes I realize he has a broken hand, but he’s INGE).

Leave a Reply

