too many pitches makes for sad pitchers


photo by Samara Pearlstein

Driving home from work tonight, listening to a bit of the Red Sox game. The radio guys are talking about what a nice night it is at Fenway, good offensive production, beautiful weather, just a ‘perfect’ night.

“Except for that Yankee score!” one of them adds.

OH NO, thinks I. WHAT HORRORS AWAIT ME WHEN I FINALLY DRAG MY EXHAUSTED CARCASS HOME AND TAKE A LOOK AT THE DETROIT BOX SCORE?

What do I find when I get home? Only my multi-season nemesis, MILLION-PITCH VERLANDER, rendered even more acutely awful because Curtis Granderson hit a home run off of him (probably breaking poor Justin’s heart into a thousand pieces) (not that I’m projecting or anything) (nope, not a bit), and Jorge freaking Posada stole second base, and all this was happening in front of Yankees fans.

I also found the saddest of sad Verlanders:

“This,” Verlander said, “is the worst I’ve ever felt on the mound as a professional baseball player, bar none. I feel like I was so far from where I needed to be.”
Jason Beck/DetroitTigers.com

HORRORS INDEED.

11 responses to “too many pitches makes for sad pitchers

  1. ivantopumpyouup

    //“This,” Verlander said, “is the worst I’ve ever felt on the mound as a professional baseball player, bar none. I feel like I was so far from where I needed to be.” //

    More than any start in ’08, when he was terrible? Oh Justin. You poor thing. :( I want to swoop in and cuddle him to me like a protective mama cat with a kitten.

  2. Awwww… poor guy… he needs a hug!

  3. That stolen base by Posada… I wanted to cover my eyes. Verlander just wasn’t paying attention. Hell, *I* could steal second base with a jump like that.

    I am in the camp of “Let’s just all forget this thing ever happened, k?”

  4. Every time I see Justin Verlander throw 100+ pitches in 6 innings or less now, I think, “Oh no, Sam is not going to be happy.” So… at least you’ve made your displeasure known? :P

  5. I must ask though,: why is the font so SMALL? It’s puny!!! What’s the deal?

  6. I was at the game last night, wearing a Verlander jersey. I was embarassed… but it could have been worse. A lot worse from the number of guys that were on base in the first couple innings.

  7. I hate that when I refer to “The Ace” these days, it’s usually sarcastically. Either that, or I’m talking about Max Scherzer. Where is the J.V. we know and love? — specifically the one that doesn’t throw a million pitches a night?

Leave a Reply

