catching a baseball is difficult and I blame Texas


photo by Samara Pearlstein

Seriously, I cannot remember the last time I saw so many dropped balls in a single game, or even series. The Tigers were dropping balls all over the place, not euphemistically, and so were the Rangers. I kind of expect that from the Tigers right now, because everything else is falling apart so WHY NOT, but the Rangers are actually on top of their division. I expect a little more from them.

Can we blame Texas for this sudden across-the-board defensive slop? I think so. Texas is the common factor here. The box score lists the game temperature as 90 degrees, but it probably felt like 127 degrees, because, you know… Texas. Everyone must have been very sweaty, which would lead to dropped balls and slipped throws. There was probably also some amount of swimming vision, because of heat waves radiating off the ground or because the heat was just slowly destroying the optic nerves of the players out there. Again: Texas. You can try to convince me that Texas is not like that, but I will know that you’re lying.

Jim Leyland got ejected in the latest installment of The War with the Umpires, but who cares? Lloyd McClendon can make utterly futile pitching changes and pinch hitter decisions just as well as Leyland can at this point.

Armando couldn’t even get through four innings, and he committed an error (one of those slipped throws, this one down to first, hitting David Murphy in the shoulder), but who cares? It doesn’t matter anymore. The only thing that matters is keeping everyone healthy. And our sadness matters. Our deep existential sadness.

Ryan Raburn had a great offensive night. He was 3-for-5 with a double, a homer, and 4 RBI. Traitor Damon hit his 100th career triple, although it could have been called an error if the official scorer had been feeling feisty at the time. But who cares? All is nothingness.

I guess Thursday is an offday, which I was not expecting. I thought we were done with the disorienting two-game series? Apparently not. Disorient away, MLB schedulers. We don’t have to know which direction is up anyways.

16 responses to “catching a baseball is difficult and I blame Texas

  1. so I went to both games and I’m pretty sure I can conclude this serious was just ridiculous. I’m not even bitter because the Tigers lost both games… it was all just weird. very weird.

  2. this serious? this SERIES. see what I mean?

  3. Ugh. That was bad. So very bad.

  4. this serious

    You totally stole that from Ring Lardner :)

  5. The War with the Umpires is getting scary. Like, at first I thought oh, just another one of those RotT things. But now it’s starting to seem… really real.

  6. Is it next year yet?

  7. Ryan Raburn did absolutely nothing when the games really counted. Notice what he’s done since the Tigers fell under .500: The Tigers hit .500 on the way down on August 1, and Raburn’s splits are: August (308/357/606), September (413/460/739). Before that, he was utterly useless: May (115/115/154 — not a typo), June (255/327/447) and July (212/281/269). He frustrates me to no end.

    • Well, now, in August and September, he’s getting consistent playing time. I think it coincides with Boesch falling off the face of the earth.

  8. I like how you were careful to clarify that they were literally dropping baseballs, not dropping balls euphemistically. It’s that kind of careful attention to balls that I’ve come to expect from Roar of the Tigers, you know.

  9. Hello Boston Wolverine….I did not see a “contact” link I could find for you on the site so I posted a comment instead. Got a weird question for you, I’m producing a segment for a TV show down here in Orlando Florida about the Florida Tuskers. One of the players, Aveion Cason, used to be RB for the Lions. Taking a look at some google images of Cason, I found pics you took several years ago of him. Was curious to see if we could get your permission to use some of your pics in the segment. We will make sure to give you credit for your photos as well as provide a finished copy of the piece once finished. Please let me know if this might be something you’re interested in.

    Thanks for the time!

    • Hi. There is contact information in the FAQ here, and in my profile at Flickr, which is presumably where you would have found any photos of mine. It’s not very difficult to find.

      Shoot me an email at bluecatsredsox at gmail dot com and we’ll talk.

  10. If anyone cares, apparently all of the rookies had to dress up last night (as tweeted by Will Rhymes). If it’s not too much of a hassle, can someone take some screen shots of them if they show them on FSD tonight? They’d provide quite a laugh!

  11. Yeah, it was quite hot.

  12. I went to the Ballpark a couple of weeks ago to watch the Rangers and Athletics. Surreal stadium. I mean, seriously. It looks tiny, like I could go out there and golf one into the RF stands.

Leave a Reply

