Sparky Anderson, Feb 22, 1934 – Nov 4, 2010


illustration by Samara Pearlstein

RIP, Mr. Anderson.

10 responses to “Sparky Anderson, Feb 22, 1934 – Nov 4, 2010

  1. Very Nice. RIP Sparky

  2. Oh no. Terrible occurrence, beautiful tribute.

  3. Rough year for the Tigers.

    Condolences to all.

  4. I can’t believe he’s really gone. They just told us he’d gone into hospice, so I was still adjusting to that idea, and now all of a sudden. He’s the Tigers manager I grew up with, the only one I ever knew for so long. The idea that he won’t be around at all anymore is just… it’s beyond me. And I didn’t know him personally, of course. I can imagine how much worse it is for those who did.

    I knew there would be some kind of drawing over here, but I wasn’t prepared for how it would make me feel. Definitely getting a little dusty here at work. I know we often don’t take things very seriously and that’s the point of this blog, but thank you for this (and for the one about Ernie). Really.

  5. Beautiful, just like the EH tribute.

  6. It just doesn’t feel fair to lose both Ernie and Sparky in the same year. But thank you for that beautiful tribute. For a man who did his fair share of mangling the English language (in an endearing way, of course), he could also be pretty eloquent sometimes. RIP Sparky.

  7. Beautiful tribute, indeed.

    :'(

  8. Pingback: What they’re writing about Sparky Anderson | Geraldeyrich's Blog

  9. Art in the very best sense – thanks Sam!

  10. Well done Sam. Sparky will be missed.

Leave a Reply

