Armando is gone, as expected, plus some other things.


image by Samara Pearlstein

No shock here, but Armando Galarraga has been traded to the Diamondbacks, where he will definitely get more of a chance to start than he would have gotten in Detroit (barring immediate Tiger injury/disaster, of course). The Snakes will pick up his entire salary, and the Tigers get pitchers Kevin Eichhorn and Ryan Robowski.

Eichhorn will be 21 this year. He spent most of ’10 in rookie ball, with brief appearances at low and high single-A. Robowski will be 23 and spent all of 2010 in high-A. Both of them had some Issues last year. They will be low minors fodder; this was mostly a Move Armando kind of deal. The Dbacks get a pitcher they need to make some starts, the Tigers get a pitcher they weren’t going to use off the books. Everyone wins, at least until Brad Penny’s shoulder falls off and Armando throws a no-hitter against the Rockies and the Tigers are left looking stupid.

The nice thing is that if Ryan Robowski makes it back up at a time when Ryan Raburn is still on the roster, we can start to recoup the loss of Rs that we suffered when Arrrrrrmando Galarrrrrrraga departed.

Other News That I Am Too Lazy to Make a New Post for

–The Tigers are retiring Sparky Anderson’s number. There has been a fair amount of chatter on the internet about this being a too-little-too-late kind of thing. I think most people agree that it’s the right thing to do, on its own, and I think most people would have liked to see it done while Sparky was still around, ideally while he was still mobile enough to make it out to the ballpark.

Obviously it’s way too late for that now, at least until the zombie apocalypse. So do you keep on being annoyed that they didn’t give him this honor in a timely fashion, or do you look past that and just try to be happy that it’s finally happening? I don’t know. Life sucks and then you die. But if you were awesome, they retire your number.

–Apparently the team is going to wear a patch with the word SPARKY and the number 11 on it this season. So are they retiring the EH patch? I think they should wear both. I’m aware that’s creeping up on Patch Overload, but quite frankly I don’t think that part of one season was enough to patch-honor Ernie Harwell. I’d give it at least another full season.

–TigerFest and the Winter Caravan happened, and obviously I could not attend any of the festivities. I guess TigerFest was streamed online in some capacity? but I wasn’t home at all that day, so I really missed it. WOE. Under the link are a whole bunch of linked photos from the internet, in case you too missed it.

–Max Scherzer gets electrocuted, with SCIENCE.
–Ryan Perry, WHAT HAPPENED?
–Jim Leyland’s goatee.
–Papa Grande looks at art with jHonny and Justin.
–Tigers pose in front of the Diego Rivera mural, my brain explodes.
Gratuitous Max Scherzer heterochromia shot.
–Zoom is super fuzzy right now.
–Papa Grande and Ramon Santiago share a tender loving dance.
–Magglio at McDonald’s.
–Phil Coke at a pickle factory, for some reason?
–Paws diagnoses camera problems.
–Miggy has short hair and no goatee again. I know some of you will be very happy about this.
–Daniel Schlereth, safe for pickles.

–Will Rhymes takes a picture of snowy Comerica, Robin Bruckson of the Detroit News takes a picture of Will Rhymes taking a picture of snowy Comerica. I blog about it. INTERNET.

–I can’t link directly to this, but if you go to the Winter Caravan site, click on the top 2011 gallery link, and flip through, you will see photos of Brandon Inge putting on giant padded pants as part of what seems to be some sort of bomb squad suit. You’re welcome.

–If you go to the TigerFest site and click on the Tom Brookens/Phil Coke video link, you can get a look at Coke’s offseason hair, which is really quite awful. It’s almost artful in its awfulness. Like each aspect of it is individually awful, and you almost have to respect it for that. Almost. I have no idea how long that link will be accessible, so get it while it’s hot, I guess.

13 responses to “Armando is gone, as expected, plus some other things.

  1. ivantopumpyouup

    I lament the loss of Miggy’s hair. ;_____________;

    ALSO I VERY MUCH APPROVE OF PHIL COKE’S HAIR AND I DON’T CARE WHAT ANYONE THINKS. :D

  2. Scherleth has some nice facial hair, too, underneath the plastic wrap. Burt I don’t know if what Miggy used to have really qualifies as a goatee. . .

  3. I thought Ryan Perry looked like a rock star with that hairstyle. Phil Coke was the comedian of TigerFest, and had everyone laughing during his portion of the Question and Answer Session. Your #1 Tiger, Mr. Inge made one young lady Deliriously happy when he took a picture and signed a jersey for her during his portion of the Q and A session.

  4. So did Rod Allen realize he could never take Papa Grande, and wuss out of the dance-off? Or what? I was so looking forward to the photos from that.

  5. How do you appease a zombie hungry for brains? Pull him aside, show him a nice video tribute, and tell him you’re retiring his number.

    “Very niiiiiiiiice. Truly *gurgle* hummmbling.”

  6. Little-known fact: Brandon Inge starred in “Spaceballs” as Dark Helmet. THERE ARE PICTURES ON THE INTERNET TO PROVE IT!

  7. Will Rhymes recursion (or something)! I CAN SEE FOREVER

  8. – Armando goes to be with Gibby and Tram. I guess that’s nice, in a way.

    – This is a really mean thought, but if Sparky came back as a zombie, would anyone be able to tell. (I know, I know… I’m an awful person).

    – I also missed the Caravan/TigersFest, so I appreciate the recap. One must keep up on the important things… like who won the dance off, and who went to the pickle factory.

  9. Crazy dream, terrible cartoon idea for Samara…After seeing the winter caravan pics, I dreamt there was a reunion of Tigers and former Tigers. I could tell who everyone was, except for one smallish man with Fabio’s blond long hair. After asking around, I found out it was Pudge! It was surreal!

  10. On Tigers.com are a bunch of the videos from the event – including interviews with Phil Coke.

    If ever a man NEEDED to be on Twitter, it is Phil Coke. SO HILARIOUS.

Leave a Reply

