Happy Real Opening Day!


illustration by Samara Pearlstein

The home opener is the Opening Day that matters most, since that’s where the hometown fans get to see real live baseball in front of their faces. Also, the Tigers won, which means I can acknowledge the game without sacrificing my emotional equilibrium and general ability to function in society without snapping irritably at everyone around me. That’s Real Baseball.

I actually have no idea what the deal is with this cartoon. Originally I had big plans for it, but stuff just wasn’t working out. I think I threw out four or five different Paws sketches that looked nothing like this. Then I was going to at least do a background until I got lazy and that didn’t happen either. But it’s the home opener so I felt like I had to have something new up, and this is what was left in an open Photoshop window. Save-as-jpeg and there you go, internet.

How great was it to see Victor Martinez smash the baseball for the first time in home whites? Somewhere between ‘wicked awesomely great’ and ‘perfect’, I should expect.

I really enjoyed getting out to an early lead. It takes the pressure off and keeps the game from getting too stressful, which is nice because I get enough of that from the Red Sox in my life these days, thank you. Close games are fun and low-scoring pitchers’ battles or high-scoring slugfests can both be fun, but sometimes you just want to see a game that doesn’t make your blood pressure skyrocket.

Max inspired good feelings. When he’s on, he’s on. This bodes well if you are willing to take one game against the Royals as a Sign, and I totally am.

I think there was more to this post but I am falling asleep, so this is what you get.

Plus everyone stuck it out on the ballpark despite the cold, wet weather and the ominous Tarp of the Field. If you were perfectly willing to sit through all that because it was Opening Day, congratulations. Mad respect.

9 responses to “Happy Real Opening Day!

  1. As Ice Cube once put it: “Today was a good day.”

  2. Aaaaaaaahhhhhhhhh Opening Day.

    /rips at hair in excitement

  3. Hell yeah home opener. And I don’t care what the deal is with the cartoon, I just like Paws in stirrups. :)

  4. Paws is all new on the inside–the Tigers were advertising for a new mascot performer in January. So this was a big day for Paws, his first day with new insides. So congrats, Paws!

  5. By my rough estimate of looking at empty seats on TV, the Tigers had more people in the stands in the ninth inning of their second game, when they were ridiculously far behind, than the Yankees had at any point in their opening weekend.

    I don’t want to hear commentators talking about what great fans there are in New York, ever again.

    • The problem with Yankee Stadium is that they can have a huge crowd, but still be mostly empty behind the plate, because those seats are so ludicrously overpriced. I mean, seats directly behind home plate, in the Legends Suite, START at $500. The same seats at Comerica, for a ‘premium’ game, are $82. I mean… really. The same seats at Fenway are around $340, which is still a whole hell of a lot more than in Detroit, but nowhere near $500 and up.

  6. Sam,
    Where have you been since Opening Day?? I need you to say something funny or uplifting since our Tigers are pretending to be the 2003 Tigers.
    10 games in and in LAST PLACE???
    I need perspective!! Its a long season.

  7. wonderful points altogether, you just received a brand new reader.
    What could you suggest about your submit that you made some days ago?
    Any certain?

Leave a Reply

