sadness is watching your pitchers get destroyed by the Mets


illustrations by Samara Pearlstein

Sometimes you win. Sometimes you lose. Sometimes you lose in hilariously over-the-top ways to the Mets and the only thing you can do is dig up a drawing from 2007 that is suddenly relevant again.

FredFred was… no. I can’t. Instead let’s look at these words from Jim Leyland, on the subject of the play that led to his theatrical rant yesterday.

My only point was in 48 years of baseball, I have never seen a play where a ground ball that was thrown to the first baseman was called one way and changed. I’ve never seen that in 48 years. I’m obviously smart enough to know the guy was out. The umpire, by his own admission, said he blew the call.

They got the call wrong in getting the call right, in my opinion.
Jason Beck/Chris Vannini, DetroitTigers.com

They got the call wrong in getting the call right. Meditate upon that one, my friends.

And remember, in these waning days, to do your sacred duty:

2 responses to “sadness is watching your pitchers get destroyed by the Mets

  1. Jim Leyland is a very deep man.

    I have nothing to add about the Mets game. (What Mets game? I remember no Mets game.)

  2. just some guy

    I usually like Mr Met… but not like this! Not like this!!

Leave a Reply

