Hello Below, and Verlander gets back on track.


Duane Below made his big league debut yesterday! I should have posted this then, but I was too busy being distraught over Brandon Inge. You understand how it is. In any event, we can say hello to Below now.

He is a Michigan native, so his appearance with the Tigers has already been extensively and lovingly covered by every media outlet and bloglet known to man- and cat-kind. He grew up in Britton, MI, a teeny tiny little town where I would guess there was nothing much to do but practice pitching. I’ve never been there but I think his hand map in the TC up there is at least in the right ballpark.

His parents were at the game. Various Britton locals were at the game. People had signs with every possible form of ‘Below’ pun on them. It would have been nice to see Below get the win. Alas, it was not meant to be as the bullpen could not stop giving up runs, and the offense couldn’t make up the deficit quickly enough. No win for the team, no win for Below. He didn’t get the loss, though. So there’s that.

The poor kid had Japanese reporters telling him after the game that he was famous in Japan for giving up Hideki Matsui’s 500th career home run. How, er, prestigious.

things:

–Justin Verlander does not want anyone to be worrying after his last start. Therefore he will go out there and pitch 8 innings with 126 pitches and he’ll hold the Twinks to one run and he’ll stand around generally being awesome.

–Wilson Betemit got his first start in a Detroit uniform. At one point he fielded a ball at third (awkwardly), threw it across the mound towards first. He nearly beaned Phil Coke. I don’t want to say that Brandon Inge would have made that play, but Brandon Inge would have made that, ok.

–I will be in Minnesota for the Friday and Saturday games, so there will be radio silence over here until I get back. If you will be in MN too, come say hi!

9 responses to “Hello Below, and Verlander gets back on track.

  1. I keep getting amused that Britton sounds like Britain, so when Rod and Mario talk about how many “natives of Britton” are at the ballpark, it sounds like Comerica is being invaded by a bunch of English, Scots, and Welsh.

  2. When Betemit threw the ball at the ground, I heatedly exclaimed, “Brandon Inge would not have done that!” then said to my husband, that’s what I would look like out there, except I would look worse.
    I never want to see the day of a non-Tiger Inge. I’m still barely accepting that Granderson plays for You-Know-Who.

  3. Your right Sarah I said the same thing to myself and then Coke could’ve actually been doing something sucessful for once. Below had a great outing ecept for the the milestone of Godzilla. when I first heard Britton I thought we had aquired Zach Britton of the O’s.

  4. Hey, just saw today’s post – I’ll be at Saturday’s game in MN (if the weather holds up). Been reading your blog from here in Fargo for about a year now. Where are you sitting?

    • Roar of the Tigers

      Hey, i’ll be sec 14, row 1. Should be right next to the detroit dugout. Bright orange shirt, sweatin buckets. I’ll be with my dad and little bro.

  5. Sam, looking at last night’s results can we all then assume that you and your family of mad hatters will continue to follow the boys around American League parks until they clinch the Central? Make sure dad stays well-hydrated and sambro does not, I repeat, does not eat that funky blue ‘n’ pink cotton candy. On behalf of yr following, thank you for taking on this great responsibility and next year we’ll see about helping obtain a family-centric grant for the full 162-game “field research.” Think Darwin with a rhythm section.

  6. For you non-Michiganders, in the cartoon, Duane is showing the location of where in Michigan he is from. The state is kind of shaped like a mitten, which makes one’s hand a ready-made map.

  7. Your right jdornberg you can kinda do that with Wisc. to that’s where my bro is goin’ to school to become a pastor at the Sem at Mequon near Milwakee. : )

  8. So I saw Duane Below on MLBN tonight (the 14 inning marathon that ended by HBP, WHAAAAAAAT) and all I could think of was “Dang, the author of ROTT got his likeness pretty much perfect, ears and all!”

Leave a Reply

