beginning to look back at 2011

Well, I was going to do one massive post-2011 cartoon round-up. Then it turned out that I had to deal with life, the universe, and everything, and if I tried to wait until I had all the doodles I wanted for the round-up, posting would probably get pushed back to the start of the 2012 season.

I did take some time off to clear my head, maybe wait until I could type ‘Nelson Cruz’ without vividly imagining ripping my keyboard apart with my teeth for daring to aid in the creation of such a word, you know. The usual. But now a good amount of time has passed, and it is time to resume ye olde English Blogge.

Some random end-of-the-season cartoons, then:

Inarguable fact.

One of the great tragedies of this season was having to watch Alex Avila descend from his relatively fresh-faced pristine Spring state, straight into an injured mass of human bruise.

Not TOO surprising, given what he’d been dealing with before, but once Doug Fister came to Detroit, he began to find his hamsters.

A major issue in 2011.

More to come! So many more. I have many thoughts on this season and the best way to share them is, of course, via aggressively Terrible Cartoons.

17 responses to “beginning to look back at 2011

  1. Hamsters return with Fister! I love the Answer Hamsters and I love how well Fister pitched down the stretch, I sure hope he keeps an eye on them in the off season and brings them back to Spring Training with him to start the year.

  2. ivantopumpyouup

    oh my god I love these. Especially Ikea Carlos.

  3. Doug Fister + hamsters = simply adorable. <3

  4. awesome cartoons as always – the IKEA carlos and magglio made me giggle!

  5. IKEA Cärløs! If only he was so cheap to purchase and replace…

  6. I laughed so hard when I saw Carlos there were tears in my eyes.

    I am ready for 2012!

  7. Why is Verlander sitting on Greenland and/or the North Pole? Won’t he get frostbite? LET US NOT INJURE JUSTIN VERLANDER.

  8. I don’t think Kevin Rand has ever been made into a Terrible Cartoon before, has he? In related news, I was trolling about on Merriam-Webster.com today and saw their top three “trending” words list. (What can I say, I’m a word nerd.) #2 was “oblique” and it was all due to the Tigers…

  9. IKEA Guillen nice job as always and nice job with Alex sad to see him in his present state though and nobody better than JV & MC Hammer on top of the world.

  10. so did they ever get Carlos back together? maybe… for a few days

  11. its like that toy when you got to get the arms and legs in before time runs out. if you dont they spring back out

Leave a Reply

