the latest incarnation of Justin Verlander


illustration by Samara Pearlstein

There’s a new commercial out for that baseball video game. Justin Verlander is in it. He compares himself to a ninja riding a cheetah.

How they can introduce that image without introducing any accompanying visuals is beyond my understanding. So here you are, the very important cartoon that fills in that tragic, terribly significant gap.

14 responses to “the latest incarnation of Justin Verlander

  1. THE CHEETAH IS ALSO A NINJA.

    good day.

  2. Seriously, you can’t just throw those words out there and not give our optic nerves some fun. It’s just irresponsible. Thank you for providing this service.

  3. El Gato Pollo Loco

    Now my morning is complete!

  4. I like the mask on the cheetah. As well as the entire drawing, of course.

  5. I had not yet seen this fabulous comercial. I thought my love for JV couldn’t grow any more. Apparently I was wrong. :-) The throwing stars with “35” on them is a nice touch!

    While watching a spring training workout last February I heard him respond to instructions from a coach with “Giggity, giggity!”. I nearly died.

  6. HA! This is great!!! I love it.

  7. Pingback: Verlander is a Ninja Riding on a Cheetah: The Meme of the Offseason « Walkoff Woodward

  8. Pingback: File under “Things That are Awesome” | "Are You Sure You're a Girl?"

  9. What does Paws think of this? Do cheetahs and anthropomorphized tigers get along?

  10. Thanks for the visual Samara. When I heard people raving about the commercial, I expected to see Verlander dressed up like a ninja and riding a cheetah (or at least a fake cheetah). Needless to say, I was disappointed

  11. Tigers and cheetahs would be okay. Lions and cheetahs do not get along, so fortunately JV isn’t a football player. Feline interspecies harmony shall be preserved. :)

  12. I’ve seen your work on twitter Avi’s… just now found your blog.
    Absolutely amazed at the humor and skill… will be coming back daily to check for new ones! AMAZING!

  13. is this game rated M?

Leave a Reply

